Chevron Left
Back to Health Behavior Change: From Evidence to Action

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Health Behavior Change: From Evidence to Action by Yale University

4.8
stars
284 ratings

About the Course

Humans often fail to make rational decisions that affect their health. This course seeks to heighten understanding of the social and behavioral factors that contribute to health decisions and behaviors, with an ultimate goal of learning how to utilize these factors in improving public health efforts. Through a set of experiential learning exercises, students will learn to apply the science of health behavior change in their own lives. The course is appropriate for students interested in health care and public health, as well as individuals who are interested in learning to apply the science of behavior change to improve their personal wellbeing....

Top reviews

KS

Jan 17, 2022

The course was very useful and helped me set, plan and work towards my personal physical and mental health goals as well as share the learning with my colleagues at work. Thank you Dr. White!

BA

Aug 2, 2020

It was a wonderful experience. Thanks again for introducing this course. I will look forward for more, especially, health behavior practice in children and young adults.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 96 Reviews for Health Behavior Change: From Evidence to Action

By Keiko L

Jul 3, 2020

This was most effective and important course I ever taken. I'm very lucky to have this opportunity and it will be in my brain to activate to bring better future for all the people around me. Thank you for letting me take this course free. I really appreciated.

By aleen f

Jul 18, 2020

I've never completed a course like this before (remote instruction) and I cannot express how great the instructor was and the overall content of the material. I am looking forward to share my learning to my co-workers as well as friends. Thank you!

By Kimberly R

Nov 9, 2020

The format of this class did not appeal to me like the other Coursera courses I have taken. There were many times when a slide was shown to the two on-screen participating students but it was too small in the distance for me to see. Sometimes a full-screen shot of the slide was shown but there were many times it was not. I would have enjoyed it more if the instructor was speaking directly "to me", showing me the slide instead of the way it was formatted. I often felt like I was an observer of someone else taking the course versus an actual participant.

By Deleted A

Jul 18, 2020

I am interested in Public Health so I decided to take this course. Not only this course is a great introduction to public health, it also thought me the importance of taking care of myself and ways on how to educate others through health behavior change. I appreciate Professor White for inviting her students in the weekly discussions. The lessons became more engaging and interesting because the students share their own views, opinions, and experiences in their life and in the public health field. Thank you, Professor White and Yale School of Public Health!

By Vanessa M

May 13, 2020

I was impressed with the course. I enjoyed hearing the experience and opinions of other students

By Carolyn T

May 22, 2020

I enjoyed the lectures by Dr. Marney White and the contributions of the students who

By Achyut S

Aug 3, 2020

It was a wonderful experience. Thanks again for introducing this course. I will look forward for more, especially, health behavior practice in children and young adults.

By Meghan B

Jan 15, 2021

This is my 4th Coursera class in the health field and was the weakest offering by a wide margin. I found the class so frustrating that I dropped it after a few weeks of coursework. The instructor seems like a nice person, but three things really got in the way of learning: (1) the professor does not speak into the camera, and instead is filmed having more casual conversations on stage with 2 of her students. I felt like I was watching someone else's in-office conversation. It was hard to see her visuals and hard to figure out what was important. (2) she does not have a prepared script and ends up saying "um" constantly. (3) She used lots of technical terminology and language - the academic names that scholars give their behavior change theories. The tests and assignments were an odd mix of "what is the name of this theory" and "come up with a plan to change your own life." Was this class for public health students or people seeking to change their health behavior? Those two audiences need different approaches. I really do not recommend this class - it does not work for either.

By Varsha V N

Jul 10, 2020

I loved the course as it was very friendly and I could find myself being constantly engaged in the course. The involvement of students and their perspectives have helped the students who take this course to also find answers to the small questions that arise in our minds. A big thanks to Prof. Marney White for her lectures and lessons that has helped me understand different mental health issues and other issues like diet, nutrition and physical activity much better. Thank you for this course, I am very happy to have pursued it.

Varsha. V. Nair

By Joshua B

May 16, 2020

Interactive and Informative. It helps you take into account your own health behaviors throughout the course so you can begin to see the benefits and challenges facing the community. I love the focus on prevention and healthy behaviors to avoid disease or improve health outcomes for those with a disease. Highly recommended for anyone!

By Jason W

Apr 22, 2020

I enjoyed this. Dr. White was engaging and modules were separated in a way that was easy to follow and digest. It was a nice introduction in to how we push the needle in changing the health behaviours of society (and validating to hear that it's not the simplest of tasks).

By BSPSY I J C Y

Jun 23, 2021

I find this course really interesting and I had more reflections and lessons that will apply for self to other people around us. Thank you for having this course.

By Matthew P

Aug 25, 2022

I loved taking this course! Marney is a great professor, and very engaging. The style of this course is very casual, but very well-informed, which really helps with staying interested (normally a challenge with online learning, especially with so many interactions moving online during the COVID-19 pandemic). And the assignments are almost entirely based on self-improvement, developing personal behavior change goals to get firsthand experience with the challenges of behavior change, encouraging reflection on the successes and shortcomings of various strategies. I would absolutely recommend this course, particularly to undergraduate or graduate students, who constitute a particularly vulnerable population to mental health, physical activity, and nutrition struggles (an unfortunate side-effect of our current higher education system in the US). In a world that constantly demands an endless "grind," this course is a welcome respite that's taught me new tools for self-reflective personal growth, and expanded my empathy—both for others as well as for myself—for the challenges of effecting long-term development and maintenance of healthier behavior patterns. 11/10 rating :)

By Abigail P

Jan 26, 2021

This has been an inspiring course as so many have said. It has kept me intellectually engaged throughout, and has been my self study time alongside working in the healthcare industry. I have thoroughly enjoyed the participatory factor, it has been informative and life changing in some respects in terms of changing my perception towards my health, which can only be achieved through direct experience. I hope others will be able to replicate my success and the success from others, I have already seen a change in my partner who I live with; in implementing changes in nutrition activities for example; intermittent fasting - eating after 12pm and before 8pm. I have also thoroughly enjoyed the student-lecturer interaction and found the relationships rewarding to observe, and it has helped me identify with being a student again which I have greatly missed. And consider the importance of participation and sharing of thoughts. Thank you

By Rebecca C

Jun 5, 2020

This was an excellent class. The material was well taught and the discussion forums were a great way to complete assignments. I would highly recommend this course as it is filled with lots of great information about improving your mental and physical health.

By Regina V

May 6, 2021

Dr. Marney White is so kind and informative! I learned so much that I was actually able to work into my daily life. I constantly think differently now and I am so so grateful I took this class.

By Mark H

Feb 5, 2022

WOW! This class helped me take time for myself without the guilt. I feel I am better equiped to continue my health and well being journey. Thank You!

By ARMIE J A

Jul 19, 2020

Thanks for motivating me to become a healthier version of myself. ❤️

By Andrew J

Jul 22, 2020

It was very nice and appreciative.

By Jacqueline J

Jun 28, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course.

By MARCOS P D S G

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent course!!

By Elaina V

May 31, 2020

Very interesting, dynamic and motivational.

By Evelyn E

Nov 16, 2020

This course is very well organized and presented. My participation in efforts to change my own health behaviors was enormously informative. The experience of goal setting, application of techniques to track and make change happen, and review with peers taught me more than just listening to or reading the information I was supposed to learn. Marney White should be commended for her efforts to not only put this course together but also making it very accessible. She then takes the class one step further and has student become part of a study on the impact of the class itself. Thanks for all the work and support.

By Heidi R

Jan 23, 2023

This was a great course and a solid overview of the subject. I know in the EU many universities have entire Masters programs on Behavior Change and i have been surprised at the lack here in the US. After taking the class though, i can see how we tend to value the $$$ in the business of healing sickness rather than preventing wellness. Still, I work in software and believe a better behavior change digital solution is possible so I am going to continue to look for a full masters program.

By EVELYN V

Jun 1, 2021

It really helped me to understand how to make change and stick with it my goals. I must say it was a bit hard trying to follow through but it made happen. This also help me with other courses I signed up for a during this course. Thank you much I will continue to implement this in my future.