Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Software Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Software Engineering by IBM Skills Network

4.8
stars
120 ratings

About the Course

If you are curious to learn more about the field of software engineering, this course is for you. No prior knowledge or qualification in programming or software development is necessary. Software Engineers are in great demand and now is a great time to learn more about this exciting career path. The field of software engineering is growing at an estimated rate of 22% according to the US Bureau of Labor and Statistics. In addition to aspiring software engineers, this course is also suitable for those in related careers such as Product and Project Managers, IT Managers, Information Developers and others who communicate and interact with software engineers. This course teaches you about the power of the Software Development Lifecycle (SDLC) and software development methodologies like Agile. Explore fundamental programming principles and foundations of design, architecture, and deployment. Investigate skills a software engineer needs and identify job opportunities with hands-on projects. You will also learn about programming basics and software development tools and stacks. Throughout this course, you’ll hear from expert and novice software engineers to get a feel for what the job is like from their perspective. After completing this introductory course you will be conversant in the tools, technologies, terminology, processes, and practices in software engineering....

Top reviews

SE

Oct 8, 2022

This is a great course taught by industry experts.

I find the experts viewpoints very educating because it gives insight into how Software Engineers solve problems daily

RL

Jan 3, 2023

Simple enough to fast track the learning, while it still manages to maintain the depth levels which allows learner to grapsh the main aspects on software engineering

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 34 Reviews for Introduction to Software Engineering

By Ernest K A

Mar 4, 2023

A great course by all standards, however, I didn't really enjoy the AI or computer generated voice that was reading the lecture notes. I'd prefer a real person took us through the course. I also enjoyed the industry people who gave their experiences in software development at the various work places

By Von B M

Oct 6, 2022

This is my first cource from IBM and I have to say, I really liked it. It was fun, straight to the point, and no time wasted. I also liked the subtle touches of personal experiences, and insider viewpoints from experience software engineers from the industry. Overall, great course! I learned a lot.

By KATLEGO W M

Jan 19, 2023

This Course exceptionally designed with relevant and indepth knowledge that makes one confident after learning, I've been studying IT related Modules but I've never felt this confident and now more than ever I'm eager to study more!

Intro to python coding is highly appreciated.

By Mary M

Mar 20, 2023

Love how well structured and informative this course was. All lessons were clearly presented and had an awesome summary at the end of each. The instructors were very articulate which I appreciate. Thank you to the team for the amazing course, looking forward to the next!

By Nathan S

Nov 28, 2022

I a new to software engineering and this course gave me an excellent view into the field. It helped to lay out a good foundation and gave me a lot of info that I am able build on. If you are new to software engineering I highly recommend taking this course.

By Saviour A E

Oct 9, 2022

This is a great course taught by industry experts.

I find the experts viewpoints very educating because it gives insight into how Software Engineers solve problems daily

By Roy Y L

Jan 4, 2023

Simple enough to fast track the learning, while it still manages to maintain the depth levels which allows learner to grapsh the main aspects on software engineering

By mon m

Nov 21, 2022

This course is a must to enroll for beginners in software engineering. I really like the way they present the lecture, and the hands-on activity.

By Gourab C

Feb 9, 2023

Great course and Amazing experience learning foundations of software engineering concepts

more topics could be covered as well

By ngum a

Nov 7, 2022

A very effective and straight- forward course. I have attained so much in so little time.

By Faisal S

Feb 22, 2023

Great in gaining new skills, knowledge, and Professional Practices for your future.

By Shivam K M

Sep 8, 2022

I found this course very helpful for basic understanding of software engineering.

By Paul K

Aug 2, 2022

A substantial course, comparable to a university Coursera offering.

By Jo P

Jan 29, 2023

Perhaps, the intro 0:00-0:15 on most videos could be skipped.

By chandrasiris

Sep 5, 2022

Vwell organized and very suitable to starters in SWeng.

By BRIAN L

Jan 15, 2023

Excellent information and examples

By Aashutosh T

Mar 31, 2023

Highly recommended for beginners

By Gabriel K E

Jan 14, 2023

Great course by all standards.

By Yulia A

Feb 26, 2023

Great course for everyone.

By Carlos D C O

Jan 16, 2023

Nice introductory course!

By JOHNREX C

Jan 21, 2023

I enjoyed learning it.

By Muvhango M

Jan 1, 2023

Very informative.

By Hafiz S A

Mar 1, 2023

best course

By igor a

Jan 19, 2023

muito bom

By Emad D N

Feb 25, 2023

Thanks.