Chevron Left
Back to Precision Medicine

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Precision Medicine by University of Geneva

4.3
stars
146 ratings

About the Course

This course will provide you with the key knowledge and tools to understand the fundamentals and practical implications of precision medicine, its opportunities and challenges. It will address precision-medicine era diagnostics, treatment selection, genetic counseling, public health interventions, and biomedical research. It will also deal with data science and ethical issues. From genomic analysis and genetic counseling to cancer biomarkers, from risk assessment of chronic diseases to the understanding of gene-environment interactions, from pharmacogenomics to multi-omics data integration, experts will walk you through the many aspects of precision medicine, from the bench to the bedside and to population health. Designed for students with a bachelor-level training in life sciences, this course will also be useful for professionals who are increasingly expected to deal with precision medicine, including primary care physicians and other first-line healthcare professionals, cancer and non-communicable diseases specialists, public health policy and decision makers, as well as biomedical researchers and drug developers. Experts from the multiple domains of genetics and genomics, oncology, pharmacology, data sciences, ethics, and biomedical research will provide you with a comprehensive, multi-faceted overview of precision medicine, richly illustrated with practical examples and clinical case studies, and peppered with formative evaluations. Whether you are interested or intrigued by topics such as “genethics”, the analysis of exome sequencing, precision diabetes management, hereditary cancers, the ongoing revolution of genetic technologies, genome-exposome interactions, the pharmacogenetics of opioids, data deidentification, blockchain-base patient-consent documentation, or proteomics and biomarkers, this course will explain the concepts, offer insights and present concrete examples, thus providing you with an overall understanding of the rapidly evolving field of precision medicine. - update - The contents of this course have been updated and important corrections have been implemented thanks to learners' feedback. Many thanks to them!...

Top reviews

MZ

Feb 21, 2022

To be honest, this course was one of the most effective online education that I have ever watched. I hope the advanced course of Percision Medicine will be presented in the futre.

Thank you...

AA

Sep 2, 2022

Loved the fact that so many clinicians, bioinformaticians and geneticists were involved and the case studies were nicely presented. Have recommended to my team

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 36 Reviews for Precision Medicine

By Shaibal D G

Feb 5, 2021

Evaluation System is not that a regular student can think of, and In my opinion, it is not the way conceptual knowledge should be graded.

By Mohammadali Z

Feb 22, 2022

To be honest, this course was one of the most effective online education that I have ever watched. I hope the advanced course of Percision Medicine will be presented in the futre.

Thank you...

By Fabrice H

Aug 16, 2022

in this course i have been open minded about how most of treatement are taken as for all which is very wrong and i have understood that each person is unquie.

By Yu H W

Aug 29, 2022

It is an amazing course that broaden my horizons and that I would definitely be willing to share with others.

By Matthew B

Dec 7, 2021

Fabulous and greatly assembled course, although I'd recommend it for professionals engaged in the field.

By Russell M H

Mar 29, 2022

Great intro to the topic - which is as broad as human variation but focussed on key areas for student learning

My only suggestion for improvement would be the quality of the practice and assessment MCT quizzes - which were linguistically challenging and contorted in places. As a native English speaker I found them difficult at times , which may be amplified for others with English as a secondary language

By Ryan O

Aug 24, 2022

An in-depth course for those interested in learning about the topic. This is most definitely a course that requires a good understanding of biology, especially genetics and pharmacology. Would highly recommend at the end of the first year of Medicine, Biology, or Science related bachelors.

By Dorcas N K

Mar 29, 2022

Gained alot of knowledge. It was abit intense at the begining though, with all the talk on genetics. I almost gave up lol. They should probably make the genetics concepts a little simpler for those with no prior knowledge. Thoroughly enjoyed the course.

By Marco D

Feb 6, 2022

The problem was the level of the English spoken by the speakers, it was bad and sometimes impossible to understand, especially for non mother-tongue students. Even the video subtitles sometimes did not make any sense.

By EmemAbasi P V

Oct 7, 2022

This course was really educative and enlightening for me. I learnt a lot about Precision Medicine and my favorite part was Pharmacogenomics. It's a whole new world out there to explore research and exploit these technologies to make further advances in Health and Medicine today. Personally, this course gave me Purpose through exposure. However, the tests were very challenging😅 and the course was very elaborate. Thank you Geneva University. Thank you Coursera❤😊

By Ebrahim M Y

Nov 19, 2022

Gland to for all of you in preparing such an intersting and valuable courses, and I've been eager to take the course and fortunately, I've completed the course with 1 week by studying the notes day & night and taking the assessment and attaining successfully what I've planned!

By Anu A

Sep 3, 2022

Loved the fact that so many clinicians, bioinformaticians and geneticists were involved and the case studies were nicely presented. Have recommended to my team

By Abhinav k

Mar 31, 2022

This course has taught me a lot.I will never forget this time in which i was completely focused on learning .

By Nguyen T H T

Dec 26, 2022

This course provide much information related to all aspects of precision medicine.

By Raouf H

Nov 25, 2022

a detailed and didactic course that opens horizons for healthcare professionals.

By Olufunlola A

Aug 30, 2022

Well suited to my the current stage of my career

Demystified precision medicine

By Andreea C

Dec 4, 2021

really good course, but multiple choice questions were a bit subjective

By Akash K

May 26, 2022

Well organised course in terms of content coverage and evaluation.

By Jelizaveta K

Nov 21, 2022

Very informative and touching one very actual trending topic.

By Aline G

Aug 4, 2022

Achei bem completo, dificil e maravilhoso.

By Abdul-Rasheed A

Jun 26, 2022

Very well curated and informative

By Manar A

Apr 16, 2022

Very professional, great content

By Kilyachin O V

Jan 8, 2022

Very useful and available

By Ebrahem M

Aug 28, 2022

Well contructed module !

By Maria P R

Jun 10, 2022

Excellent course !