Chevron Left
Back to Finance of Mergers and Acquisitions: Valuation and Pricing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Finance of Mergers and Acquisitions: Valuation and Pricing by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
68 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches how to value and price M&A deals and to choose the optimal financing mix for an M&A deal. The course focuses on all the major types of M&A deals including strategic M&A, private equity leveraged buyouts (LBOs), and restructuring deals such as spinoffs and asset transfers....

Top reviews

GS

May 21, 2022

Professor Almeida makes topics easy to understand and it is a pleasure to learn from him.

Material, class, quizes, case studies and examples support well the learning.

GT

Feb 22, 2023

Very good! I enjoyed this one a lot. Many practical insights and hands on advice. Cheers

Filter by:

1 - 15 of 15 Reviews for Finance of Mergers and Acquisitions: Valuation and Pricing

By Sharon F

Nov 25, 2022

The course is well-organized and easy to follow! I have gained a lot.

By Toucan S

Oct 30, 2022

I was involved in M&A activities a few times in my 30yr career in the technology sector, but always on the technical side. The course material delivered by Heitor Almeida not only has substantial level of detail with great excel support files, but it had a good impact in my ability to undertand several aspects related to failure and successes of the deals I was involved with, including a hostile takeover by one of my previous employers. The material also helped me underdstand the stock market behavior after M&A deals are announced whether the target is public or private enterprise. I highly recommend this course for young finance or technology professionals who wish to improve their understanding of inorganic product growth or M&A strategies.

By Daiane d S M

Aug 18, 2022

A complete course to understand about valuation, mainly if you want to begining from the basics. I think that course will help my career! I only suggest a little change about Honors Assignment avaliation method because the students just avaliate themselves work to obtain them honors instead really avaliate if your valuation has justified assumptions, for example: my file was completely organized and clear, but in the first attempt of honors, a student avaliated my file was a mess. Then, I think that a different avaliation method can make this course better, like a automatic avaliation or professor's correction. Anyway, thank you, professor Almeida!

By STRICH

May 16, 2022

Very good and clear course, even if all data are US based ones. I highly recommend to follow it, because it's fresh, well illustrated and really never boring.

Some questions are in negative form, so non native english spreakers could have understanding problems. Read carefuly each question.

Prof. Almeida gives a lot a joy in his courses and this again will be carry through all lessons without making you tired of it.

I enjoyed it.

Great chears to all from France ! Merci à vous.

By Zhamaldinov R

Apr 19, 2022

Enjoyed the course. + Partially it is devoted to working in excel on valuing M&A transactions using real world data. + It provides findings from research on mergers and acquisitions. - Some aspects of valuation are simplified

By ed t

Nov 15, 2022

course is well laid out -- the professor did a great job at explaining the material and was able to take the student through it in a way that made it very understandable. highly recommend

By Giulio S

May 22, 2022

Professor Almeida makes topics easy to understand and it is a pleasure to learn from him.

Material, class, quizes, case studies and examples support well the learning.

By Gordon T

Feb 23, 2023

Very good! I enjoyed this one a lot. Many practical insights and hands on advice. Cheers

By Faisal W

Oct 22, 2022

Awesome. Complex concepts made so simple. God bless the professor.

By Mike M

Mar 20, 2022

A very systematic course with great examples and practice !

By Huang Y

Apr 24, 2022

Very detailed! Very well-structured!

By Akash A

Jul 31, 2022

obest one

By Emmanuel K M

Jun 24, 2022

Excellent

By Nazneen M

Mar 31, 2022

Great Course & learning

By Rohan A

Feb 25, 2023

This course was a bit too technical for me, I defer such calculations to my CFO or accountants. Simple back-of-the-envelope calculations such as NPV were acceptable. I enjoyed the friendly & hostile takeover lessons.